Work and Productivity

This is the first post in the Work and Productivity category. This is a really important topic for me, and I’ve spent a lot of time on it. I’m going to talk a bit about my own work in the posts in this category and everything that comes along with how I manage my workflow, goals for the future, managing a household with two females and so on.

What I Do

I’m a self-employed writer in the gambling industry. I have anywhere from 5 to 12 clients at any given time, and I’ve been doing this for years. Before that, I played poker professionally for a few years. Before that, I worked construction and went to college as a mathematics major (before dropping out to pursue poker at the beginning of my senior year). It’s not the most exciting work in the world, but it pays well and has a ton of flexibility, and it’s not particularly hard because I have so much experience and such a deep knowledge of virtually every aspect of the industry.

Productivity Defined

Tons of people have tons of things to say about productivity. For our purposes here, we’re going to have a very simple and straightforward definition of productivity: The measure of productivity is the measure of how much shit you get done. With this definition, an improvement in productivity means you get more shit done in the same amount of time compared to what you did before. It’s that simple.

A better productivity means we make more money and/or spend less time on our work without taking a hit financially. This is really important for me as a writer because my biggest enemy is when my productivity falls off for various reasons.

This Isn’t Your Typical Productivity Advice

I don’t really get down with the typical garbage that passes for productivity advice. You can take about 99.9 percent of what you’d read about productivity and see that it gives you either no results or actually hurts your results. I have a very no-nonsense approach here because it affects my money: If it works, then we do it, and if it doesn’t work, then we don’t.

Again, it’s very simple.

I primarily draw from sports and performance psychology and my own experiences with my own work and with the work of the people I’ve helped with their productivity when it comes to any observations of advice I give on this, and I want my readers to know that it’s something that I take extremely seriously. I’m not looking to sell books or some other feel-good crap that doesn’t work here. I just want to offer good advice that helps people to do better because helping people is my primary motivator for posting in this blog to begin with.

Leave a Reply

